series information

Breath of Fire is a series of non-sequential RPG video games developed by Capcom. Currently, five Breath of Fire games have been released; each one centering around a young orphan boy who discovers he is a descendant of an ancient dragon race. The storylines focus on his adventures to save the world from impending dangers, and the companions he gathers along the way. Diece is among the ensemble - in one form or another - in the first four games, listed below.

Breath of Fire: The Dragon Warrior

ブレス オブ ファイア 竜の戦士

The first Breath of Fire game was released for the Super Famicon (SNES) in April of 1993. The story introduces Ryuu, a young boy of the White Dragon race, who must stop the rivaling Black Dragon race from re-awakening the Goddess of Destruction, Myria. Breath of Fire was re-released on the Game Boy Advance in 2001 with updated graphics and a system-to-system item exchanging feature.

Breath of Fire 2: Child of Fate

ブレス オブ ファイア II 使命の子

Breath of Fire 2 was released for the SNES in December of 1994, and boasted a vast improvement in graphics and battle systems. The story begins when Ryuu's childhood friend is framed for theft, and Ryuu must set out to find the real thief. Along the way he discovers that a famed religious organization is actually a cult planning to open an ancient seal to a demonic realm, and that he is a descedent of the dormant dragon that has been protecting it. BoF2 was also re-released on the GBA in 2001.

Breath of Fire 3

ブレス オブ ファイア III

Breath of Fire 3 was released for the Playstation in September of 1997. It introduced a number of new features to the gameplay, along with voices and 3D maps. The story is split into two parts: The first part follows Ryuu as a child on the run from bounty hunters as he searches for his two friends and slowly discovers his heritage. The second part re-visits Ryuu and his companions as adults who must stop the Goddess Myria as she seeks revenge on the Dragon race for sealing her away centuries ago. BoF3 was re-released on the Playstation Portable in 2005.

Breath of Fire 4: The Unfading Ones

ブレス オブ ファイア IV うつろわざるもの

The fourth instalment was released in April 2000 for the Playstation. The story begins with Nina and Cray, who encounter an amnesia-stricken Ryuu while searching for Nina's missing sister. At the same time, Fou-Lu, an ancient emporer of the Fou Empire who is bent on destroying humanity, is resurrected and in need of Ryuu to carry out his plan. As Fou-Lu seeks out Ryuu, he and his friends must find a way to stop Fou-Lu while evading the blades of fellow empires who know of their connection. Oh, and while trying to find Nina's sister too or something. BoF4 was released for Windows PCs in 2003, with a re-release of the port in 2005.